What's the Word?

$15.98 + $3 S&H (US)

This record, the 'Birds 1st Chrysalis label release, is their definitive "Let's Make A Statement" album. A dart thrown at the heart of the highly competitive "commercial" marketplace (read radio), this release is a mixture of originals and covers showcasing the influence of mighty Texas Gulf Coast Blues greats Slim Harpo, Count Rockin' Sidney, Lightnin' Slim, and Smiley Lewis on this band. The intro cut, Runnin' Shoes, a cover of lesser known Texas Blues great Juke Boy Bonner is a classic Texas rocking' E Blues rave. Listen to the Zydeco influenced Simien/Soileau cover You Ain't Nothin' But Fine and you'll realize these guys "really do get around". Low Down Woman reminds me of my favorite harp player and friend, the great Carry Bell. Now that's a real compliment!! The instrumental Extra Jimmies is guitarist Jimmy Vaughan's signature tune. And it's it's a great one. Well that's 4 out of 4. Kind gives you the idea that this is gonna be a great album and it is. Check out their version of the much covered Sugar Coated Love. Other notables on this great milestone record are: Last Call For Alcohol, The Crawl, Jumping' Bad, and Learn To Treat Me Right. Hell, this is all good rockin' Blues!!!!

The 3 bonus tracks are live cuts engineered by Bob Sullivan at the Bottom Line Club in Austin. They include an intro of the band by C-Boy as well as live versions of Bad Boy by Eddy Taylor and Scratch My Back by James More. Folks, this is some of the best rock n roll, make that Blues Rock n Roll, of the 80's. Turn it up and ENJOY!!!  



1 Runnin' Shoes (Traditional) 3:39 
2 You Ain't Nothin' But Fine (Semien, Soileau) 1:48 
3 Low-Down Woman (Wilson) 3:17 
4 Extra Jimmies (Ferguson, Vaughan) 2:38 
5 Sugar Coated Love (Miller) 3:01 
6 Last Call for Alcohol (Vaughan, Wilson) 2:55 
7 The Crawl (Shuler, Victorian) 2:13 
8 Jumpin' Bad (Vaughan, Wilson) 2:27 
9 Learn to Treat Me Right (Wilson) 3:08 
10 I'm a Good Man (If You Give Me a Chance) (Wilson) 2:48 
11 Dirty Work (Wilson) 3:04 
12 That's Enough of That Stuff (Wilson) 2:08 
13 Band Introduction by C-Boy* :21 
14 Bad Boy [live]* (Taylor) 3:11 
15 Scratch My Back [live]* (Moore) 5:06 
16 Los Fabulosos Thunderbirds* (Ferguson, Vaughan, Wilson) 1:10 

*Bonus Track





Send mail to anna@mondaymedia.org with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2008 Benchmark Recordings
Last modified: February 17, 2010